The Charities

[Mythology (Greek mythological figures)]

The Charities are personifications of aspects of grace and beauty.
They are called Aglaia (Splendor), Euphrosyne (Mirth) [you FROSS uh nee], and Thalia (Good Cheer).
While the Muses inspire artists, the Charities apply the artists' works to the embellishment of life.

Also sometimes translated as "The Graces" (Gratiae).

Alternate name translations:

  • AGLAIA, the Radiant (embodiment of radiance and splendor)
  • EUPHROSYNE, the Joyful (embodiment of joy and mirth)
  • THALIA / Thaleia , the Flowering (muse of comedy and pastoral poetry)


[Theology, Christian ]

[Middle English charite, from Old French, 'Christian love', from Latin cāritās, 'affection', from cārus, 'dear'.]

Charity is the virtue* defined as love directed first toward God, but also toward oneself and one's neighbors (as objects of God's love).


*The Three Theological Virtues listed in the Bible are faith, hope, and charity.
They are mentioned in 1 Corinthians 13:13 :

"And now abideth faith, hope, charity, these three;
but the greatest of these is charity
(from the King James version).

The New King James version, the New American Standard Bible, and New International version translate the third, agape , as "love", not "charity."


[1] Encyclopedia Mythica: Charities
[2] Encyclopedia Mythica: Graces
[3] agape: what's the difference between charity and love?
define:charity ; last modified: April 14, 2006